Skip to main content
Over the past academic year, many graduate and undergraduate Classics students have been granted prestigious awards and fellowships from multiple institutions including UNC-Chapel Hill and the Classics Department.  Below is a list of the recipients and a brief description of their prize.

Graduate Students

Cicek Beeby: 2016 Tanner Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, UNC-Chapel Hill
The Tanner Award is given to five graduate teaching assistants each year from across the University.  Undergraduate students are encouraged to nominate instructors who “promote the value of undergraduate teaching by example; demonstrate concern for students through interaction and approachability inside and outside the classroom; create meaningful learning experiences; and maintain high expectation of their students.”

Katie De Boer Simons: CAMWS Presidential Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Paper
Katie’s paper, “Blaming Helen: Inconsistency in Aeneid 6 and Odyssey 24″ was named superior based on the criteria set by CAMWS: the quality of the scholarly argument, including the importance of the topic, the originality of the treatment, and the quality of mind displayed; and the effectiveness of an oral presentation, including the quality of the writing, good organization, and interest to an audience.

Catharine Judson: Homer and Dorothy Thompson Fellowship, ASCSA
The American School for Classical Studies in Athens awards seven Advanced Fellowships providing funding for a full academic year at the School.  Catherine completed the Regular Program at the School this past year and plans to finish her dissertation in Athens in 2016-2017.

Post-Baccalaureate Students

Jordan Preuss: Ertegun Graduate Scholarship, Oxford University
The Mica and Ahmet Ertegun Graduate Scholarship Programme funds full-time graduate degrees in various subjects in the humanities.  Jordan plans to pursue her Masters degree as a member of Merton College at Oxford.

Undergraduate Students

Philip Wilson: CAMWS Manson A. Stewart Award
Seven sophomore and junior Classics majors were awarded this prize after being nominated by their professors for demonstrating outstanding work in their Latin and Greek courses.  Students are selected from across the entire area served by CAMWS, which extends from Florida to Saskatchewan and from Nevada to Ontario.

Elizabeth Li: The Herington Prize in Greek, UNC Classics Department
Evan Sink: The Herington Prize in Latin, UNC Classics Department
The Herington Greek and Latin Poetry Prizes were established in 1999 by Maynard and Florence Mack.  The Classics Department sponsors an annual competition in the recitation of Greek and Latin poetry in honor of John Herington.  The purpose of the competition, open to all undergraduates taking Greek or Latin at UNC, is to encourage the performance of poetry.

Kristina Cheung: The Albert Suskin Prize in Latin, UNC Classics Department
This award, established in 1966, is offered to the undergraduate student who shows the best ability to understand Latin poetry and to translate selected passages at sight.  The award is in memory of Albert I. Suskin, Professor of Latin and Chairman of the Department of Classics until his death in 1965 and was established in his memory by his colleagues and friends.

Emily Shanahan: The Eben Alexander Prize in Greek, UNC Classics Department
This award, established in 1887 and bestowed yearly by the family of the late Dr. Eben Alexander, Sr., is presented to the undergraduate student who presents the best rendering into English of selected passages of Greek not previously read.

Gordon M. Wilbourn: The Herington Scholarship
One recipient is chosen from UNC Classics majors and minors, with preference given to the best students in Greek. The purpose of the Herington Scholarship is to recognize achievement and to encourage undergraduates to continue their study of the Classics at UNC or abroad in the following year.

Amanda M. Kubic: The Epps Prize in Greek Studies
One recipient is chosen from among UNC Classics undergraduate juniors and seniors and graduate students of Greek.  The prize, as described by the late Professor Preston Epps in his will, should go to the student who “shows the greatest interest and promise in coming to understand the Greek language, literature, history, and outlook.”